Amendment 10

The Bill of Rights

Amendment 1

Amendment 2

Amendment 3

Amendment 4

Amendment 5

Amendment 6

Amendment 7

Amendment 8

Amendment 9

Amendment 10


Teacher Notes

The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the states, are reserved to the states respectively, or to the people.

The governmental powers not listed in the Constitution for the national government are powers that the states, or the people of those states, can have.

Examples: The states determine the rules for marriages, divorces, driving licenses, voting, state taxes, job and school requirements, rules for police and fire departments, and many more.

States regulate many of our rights, not the national government.

The national government does not control these areas because they are not mentioned in the Constitution, and so they are under the control of the states.

Click the Scroll to go to the Final Activity Page